Who let the dorks out?

*REE REE REE REE*…. those were my dramatic stabby sounds July 6, 2008

Hai Dorks… I’m baaaaaack! YAY! Mac is mended and I’m off to my usual exploring and shenanigans. Oh how I missed you all. Okay, enough of that sap, story time! (No Olivia, this story isn’t as bad as the last one, I promise)

I’m sure you are all familiar with the classic thriller Psycho. No… not the Vince Vaughn version where he probably first figured out that he can’t help but be laughed at in movies, and then turned to comedy. No, no, I mean the 1960 Hitchcock movie in which Janet Leigh plays Marion Crane; a fed-up working gal having an affair with a married man who recently divorced, she steals 40,000 RL lala’s and heads for the hills to marry her lover. Only she gets stuck in a rain storm on the way and is forced to stay at a remote location at The Bates Motel. Terror, crazy, and killing ensues…. and finally, bye-bye Marion in one of the most well-known murder scenes in cinema history.

No, I’m not a film buff pushing my movie-of-the-week on you, but I just thought you all would like to know that there is a recreated version of The Bates Motel AND the creepy Bates mansion in Second Life®! I have to give credit to Kristi Maurer and her brilliant painting-like photo of the sim that I first spotted on Flickr. She was then kind enough to pass me the LM so thanks Kristi! Beckenbauer Productions has made an incredible replica that is so detailed and includes all the gruesome aftermath you’d hope to see in a build, like you might not want to see what’s under the shower curtain in Room 1! The build is not only a fantastic photo-op, but fun to explore as well. If you are searching for more fun then just a cinematic homage, you can also kill zombies out back in the graveyard behind the Motel (Warning: this activity is extremely addictive!). All in all, it’s definently worth the visit! I wasn’t able to find a donation jar but if you find one or know of one, please let us know as this place needs to stay alive in-world.

So go find your inner Norman Bates and dress up in ugmo-old lady drag or glam up ala’ Janet Leigh and send your pics to the Who Let The Dorks Out? Flickr group! I had so much fun myself shooting there (zombies and my camera *harharhar*) that I really want to see what you guys come up with. Happy exploring! Ride this SLurl to the horror.

Bates Motel
Bates Motel…. what a perfect escape from the torrential rain… or so Marion thinks…

Mother
Norman Bates to Marion: “She just goes a little mad sometimes. We all go a little mad sometimes. Haven’t you?”

There's something out there!
I thought I heard something… someone… hello?

Thinking of Sam
Thinking of Sam-
Marion Crane: Oh, we can see each other. We can even have dinner but respectably in my house with my mother’s picture on the mantel and my sister helping me broil a big steak for three.
Sam Loomis: And after the steak, do we send Sister to the movies? Turn mama’s picture to the wall?

*REE REE REE REE*
NUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!! *keeled*

 

9 Responses to “*REE REE REE REE*…. those were my dramatic stabby sounds”

  1. Paulina Oceanlane Says:

    Great post, Bella and hilarious pictures!!! LMAO – I absoutely love the last one. 😀 You little nutter. 😀

  2. Arteer Says:

    OMG, girl! I am on vaca/time out/trying to get stuff done for a couple of weeks or I’d be on this like crusty blood on a butcher knife. I can’t wait to see the pictures from it … your lead-offs are, well, wellllllllll … absolutely fabulicious and oh so the period! you kill me. Uhoh. I should not have said that, huh?

  3. Thanks Pau! I totes tried to do dark and serious, I swear….but I’ve been dorkin out for far too long and it shined through, hahaha. Ooooh well. I love how the last one makes no sense because there is already blood. It’s like classic bad editing that always bugs me in movies. Awesome.

    ARRRRRRT!!!!!!! (i didn’t mean to make that piratey but oh well) Thanks so much sweetie, and I’m glad you like my dramatic dorky pics! Have fun on your vaca woman and I always ALWAYS love hearing from you. Makes me smile like dis :DDDDDDDDD

  4. […] *Read the rest of the story and see more pics at Who Let the Dorks Out?* […]

  5. Candy Lemmon Says:

    Bella, your photography rocks my socks!!! The shots of the motel are almost as gorgeous as you are. Vintage murder victim really suits you. Hehe!

  6. SpaceCase Munster Says:

    All of these are so wonderful! Great pics!

  7. Awww, Candy you make me blush! Thanks so much hon, these were fun to do :). ❤ u muchly!

    Thanks SpaceCase, that means a lot! You should really go visit, the build is amazing. Hey were you at Kurotsubaki’s Circus yesterday? I was taking creepy pics but totes thought I saw you. I could be on crack… it’s quite possible, but sad if it was you and I didn’t say hi 😦

  8. SpaceCase Munster Says:

    LOL Isabella! I WAS poking around the circus and I saw you too, but I had a feeling you were taking pics and didn’t want to disturb you. 😛 And yeah that psycho house is an awesome build!

  9. oh, you would never disturb me silly! sad times, maybe we will run into each other again soon <333


Leave a Reply

