Who let the dorks out?

How to find interesting places in Second Life August 2, 2009

Filed under: ExpSLorers — Paulina Oceanlane @ 5:25 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As I am on holiday at the moment, my internet access is limited to my netbook. I managed to get SL running on it by following to ::Snowy Hoobinoo’s:: instructions, but because it is still very slow and the graphics are bad, I hardly use it. Instead I would like to blog some of the web resources I use to find new and interesting places in Second Life.

I always appreciate it when people add SLURLs to their images so that others can visit these beautiful spots as well. “::Koinup Places::” is probably the biggest SLURL directory I know and I love how all pictures of one place are combined into a slideshow. Koinup also lists the “coolest” and “recently discovered” places and provides an ::illustrated guide: on how to obtain SLURLs.

On Flickr there are a number of groups where SL explorers can send their pictures of beautiful places, as long as they include SLURLs or sim names.

Of course, one way to explore SL is to click randomly on the big map. The Flickr group “::Maps of SL::” collects screenshots of interesting SL aerial views and sims.

Some of my Flickr contacts are “Great Explorers” and their photostreams are an endless source of inspiration – everytime I browse through them I end up with a list of places I have to see!

There are a number of websites exclusively dedicated to describing SL’s best places, and I am sure that I either forgot some or that I don’t know all of them. If you have any additions, please post them in the comments!

Of course this list would not be complete without ::Not Possible IRL:: – I would strongly recommend to join the in-world group to receive the notecards containing even more SLURLs and info about amazing installations.

Enjoy exploring! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

4 Responses to “How to find interesting places in Second Life”

  1. Daniel Voyager Says:

    Thanks for sharing this! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Loves SL exploring ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Hello. Linked to this page on http://chateaudetuite.ning.com

    Also, wouldn’t mind at all if you had a look at my Flickr stream and thought it worthwhile to add to your list of explorer photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/caliburnsusanto/sets/

  3. Paulina Oceanlane Says:

    Me too, Daniel – SL Explorers, unite and share, hehe!

    Caliburn – thanks for the link, and you have a great photostream! Thanks for letting me know, of course I will add it to the list! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lem Skall Says:

    Thanks for the mention. I would like to add a few of my flickr contacts from whom I find out about a lot of places:
    Liqueur Felix – http://www.flickr.com/photos/liqueur/
    Ramona Forcella – http://www.flickr.com/photos/ramona538/
    rikoko Ewing – http://www.flickr.com/photos/rikokoewing/


Leave a Reply

