Who let the dorks out?

Raindrops on roses December 31, 2009

Filed under: Clothes,ExpSLorers,Hair,Photography — Paulina Oceanlane @ 10:15 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am a huge fan of musicals and it happens very easily that songs get stuck in my head and stay there for days, playing again and again and again. I watched “The Sound of Music” for the first time a couple of years ago and loved it. It still only takes a few notes of “Do Re Mi” or “My favourite things” to make me hum the music all day long.

Raindrops on Roses

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things.

A while ago “My favourite things” popped into my head again and whispered: “Why don’t you put together photographs illustrating the first lines?”. Unfortunately I didn’t have anything rose-like in my inventory at that time. But when I saw the rose gown from LIKKA*HOUSE blogged by the Sannomiya Region Fashion Express in summer, I knew I had found the base for my “Raindrops on Roses” picture.

Raindrops on Roses

The roses on this gown are lovely and very detailed, with around 200 prims per rose attachment. It took a while to rez them all the first time I put the gown on, because SL is so screwed up for me at the moment that I sometimes want to cry. But it was so worth it!

As contrast to the red gown I chose the clay skin of the gorgeous “Lily Old Hollywood” skin pack from Exodi, which I bought at one of the last skin fairs. I fell in love with them after I had seen the beautiful pictures at Stacie Pryor’s blog.

Finally I needed rain and it didn’t take me long to come up with the right location. “Crucible” and “Templum ex Obscurum” are two of my all-time favourite sims and if you happen to visit there, please consider donating a few lindens to keep them running. They have a very dark and fairytale-like atmosphere, the landscape is stunning and most importantly, they have plenty of water and rain. Raindrops make roses happy!

We wish you all a wonderful New Year’s Eve, no matter if you party hard or spend it quietly, and of course a happy and successful new year 2010! My personal SL challenge will be to find a bright copper kettle.

Credits:
“The Name of the Rose” by LIKKA*HOUSE [SLURL].
“Lily Old Hollywood clay” skin by Exodi [SLURL].
Hair “Chelsea” by Truth [SLURL].
Eyes “Eclipse” by Miriel (no longer available).
Poses: First picture, “Jazzy JH8” by LAP [SLURL], second picture “Luth expression 5” by Reel Expression [SLURL].
Pictures were taken at Crucible [SLURL].

 

2 Responses to “Raindrops on roses”

  1. Stacie Pryor Says:

    Wow! Great look! I’m really glad you loved the Old Hollywood skins! 🙂

  2. […] of Music” for a while now. If you missed the “Raindrops on Roses” post, click here to read it. The funny thing with this series is, that every single picture seems to take time to […]


Leave a Reply

